You are here
Home > Travel & Hospitality > Journeys > Chhattisgarh to develop tribal tourist circuit

Chhattisgarh to develop tribal tourist circuit

Tribal folk miniatures-Chhattisgarh
Tribal folk miniatures-Chhattisgarh

In a step towards boosting the tribal tourism circuit in the state of Chhattisgarh, the Government of India has approved a cost of Rs 99.94 crore. The Chhattisgarh Tourism Board submitted a detailed proposal under the ‘Swadesh Darshan’ package. The decision was taken during a recently held Secretary-level meeting in New Delhi.

The funds will be soon allocated by the Union Ministry of Tourism. Under this circuit of the Chhattisgarh tourism, areas such as Chitrakoot, Kurdur, Gangrel, Kondagaon, Jashpur and many more tribal areas will get developed and promoted as tourist places. Travel enthusiasts and veterans have always been of the opinion that the rich and ancient tribal culture of India should be highlighted and this move is a positive step towards that.

While Jashpur, Sarodhadadar and Ambikapur will be developed as ethnic tourist villages; Mainpat, Kurdur, Gangrel, Kondagaon, Jagdalpur, Chitrakoot and Teerathgarh would be developed for eco-ethnic tourism and if you wish to do sightseeing, you can head towards Kunkuri, Maheshpur and Nathiyanawagaon.

This year in August, the Central government had granted ‘in-principle’ approval for including Chhattisgarh in the ‘Tribal Tourism Circuit’ under its ‘Swadesh Darshan’ package, officials stated.

The Tourism ministry has launched two new schemes – Swadesh Darshan and National Mission of Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive, beautifully acronymised as PRASAD. Swadesh Darshan scheme will work extensively on developing tourism circuits with precise themes and PRASAD will concentrate on improving and enhancing the pilgrimage centres across the country.

Metal art of Jagdalpur Bastar is very famous
Metal art of Jagdalpur Bastar is very famous

The Government has identified twelve theme-based circuits under the ‘Swadesh Darshan’ scheme and they are North East Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Desert Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Rural Circuit and Ramayana Circuit.

And under PRASAD, twelve cities have been identified to start with namely Ajmer, Amravati, Dwarka, Amritsar, Gaya, Kedarnath, Kanchipuram, Mathura, Kamakhaya, Puri, Velankanni and Varanasi.

Interestingly, Chhattisgarh is among the first three states which had sent a proposal to the Union Ministry of Tourism for its theme-based ‘Swadesh Darshan’ scheme for development of eco-tourism infrastructure in the State.

Text by Supriya Aggarwal
Images source